I’m getting a Bernina!

1 May

I have a vision.

I am 26, soon to be 27.

I have 2 children, 1 chihuahua, and 1 husband {which is way more than I can handle}.

I have a Simplicity Frontier Serger that I use almost as much as my sewing machine. Right now I sew with this. {It gets the job done, while violently shaking the table, but hey it’s better than nothing!}

I am getting a Bernina! It is my mother’s machine, who quilts {more on her next post}, and she is giving it to me as a birthday/Christmas/mother’s day gift for the next 20 years. Turns out, she won’t have time to quilt anytime soon with her new addition of chickens and goats, and a billion grandchildren {or 5}. I don’t think I can accurately describe how excited I am, but I’ll try.

This moment is what I have been waiting for since the beginning of time. I have tried not to complain about all the stupid crap that I have to deal with sewing on a crappy machine, but I’m positive I haven’t succeeded. My family is annoyed with my complaining, and the crappy sewing jobs that I give them for gifts as well {I imagine}.

May 15th, 2012 will mark the beginning of my master sewing life. A life filled with accurate sewing, consistent stitches and loads of learning. Along with huge screw ups {because I can’t sew a single thing without seam ripping something out} and life lessons as I brush up on the basics and learn the secrets of the best. And then blog them {yay for you}!

My absolute goal is to make current garments, home decor and some crafts sprinkled in. After all, I’m 20-something not 80-something {Which is how old the internet thinks sewers are}. I can’t promise a world of perfect sewing, in seem to make more mistakes than anything, but I will tell you about my mistakes and how I fixed them. Or, how I scrapped the whole idea and started over, yup, I do that a lot.

So plug in your machine with me {even if you don’t have a fancy pants machine} and sew along. Make mistakes with me, I promise it’s not the end of the world. We’ll figure it out together, as community makes life so wonderful.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

