The Sew Weekly Sewing Circle

20 May

This week was called Mix it Up! The challenge? Use two different fabrics! Perfect, I have a bunch of stash busting fabric I need to mix together to make one shirt!

Ok, so I actually tried to cut the dress just like the original pattern and completely goofed, so the dress became a shirt, but a lovely one! It will be a cardigan of sorts, something to wear over a tank. {I only wish I had cut the main fabric with the striped heading down to match the top stripe. I thought I would like the contrast more than I do. But, you live you learn.

I absolutely LOVE the way the petal sleeves turned out! I have never worn a petal sleeve before and I will absolutely make a petal sleeve dress in the future. They make it so feminine but still keep your arms covered for a chilly gust of wind, or that day you don’t feel like showing the world just how little strength training you’ve done on your arms in the last 10 years.

I whipped this baby up in about 2 nights, super simple and easy.

To see more of what everyone else did for the mix it up sew along: http://circle.sewweekly.com/photo/photo/listTagged?tag=mixitup

What do you think of both my fabric’s together?

Leave a Reply

