The Sew Weekly Sewing Circle: 1940s

29 May

This week was all about the 1940s. Get inspired by the 40s and use it to make a one of a kind. Here’s what I found: I am not inspired by the 1940s! eek! So I stretched it. I found this picture

hello, plaid

 

Then, I came across this free Collete Pattern{!!!!} and I went for it. Plaid. That’s all I got out of the 1940s. And maybe a pleat influence as well. I had the plaid in my stash, and decided to bust that stash once again, and off I went.

Beautiful, right? I love this shirt. This is why you should stretch out your comfort level. GO beyond your box and get inspired by something you didn’t think you would. This is my favorite hand made garment to date. It’s simple, fits perfectly, and looks great. I’m comfortable in it. I should also mention that this is my first full project sewn on my new Bernina! It was lovely to work with such a nice machine! It went so fast I busted out a second shirt during the long weekend! Crazy, right? I’ll post on that one soon.

The pleat down the center adds a touch of detail. I felt summery, ready to bbq, and I could still wrestle with my kids. I plan to make more, then I plan to actually buy a collette pattern or two, because this sold me.

Go check out out more 1940s inspiration and then get inspired yourself! I’m a changed woman on many fronts thanks to this. What inspires you about the 1940s?

2 Responses to “The Sew Weekly Sewing Circle: 1940s”

  1. Lutie Mann January 25, 2013 at 12:13 am #

    You are so funny. Plus, it is fun to find someone on line who doesn’t want to look vintage. We do live in 2013, after all. I love all the clothes of the 40’s but I don’t want to wear them. People would laugh at me where I live – on a ranch. I don’t want to wear pioneer dresses either! I love your blog!

    Like

    • sew20something January 25, 2013 at 1:37 am #

      Yes! You get it! I love vintage, and honestly find inspiration from vintage often (mainly the 50s) but I still love it to be more on the modern side. Thanks for such kind words:) I’m feelin the love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

