Ipod Arm Band {Tutorial!}

15 Jul

image

Slide your cell phone in and go for a run!

Completely and utterly inspired by all the DIY armband I found out there, I decided to whip one up! I recently got a brand new phone and was terrified I’d drop and ruin it during a run. After searching all over the internet I found out a couple things.

A) One that you buy are too expensive, and mainly made for iphones or ipods.

B) Not that many people make their own!

Sew Inspired

So, my journey continued and I found a couple inspiring arm bands that I loved, it’s just a simple pocket!  A tight jersey detached sleeve that wraps up onto itself to create one giant pocket, couldn’t be more versatile or easy. Awesome! Let’s get started.

image
To start off, I roughly measured my arm and cell phone, then cut my fabric square. {OK, I didn’t measure, I held it up around my arm and marked it with my finger.. then cut it into a rectangle that was about where my fingers were} This was old jersey knit sheets that I didn’t like how the binding scalloped on my bed because they were cheap. Here, I like the scalloped binding, so I included it and made my own job easier by not having the finish the top.
image
Then I cut out another rectangle to match the first one.

image

Pretend the small rectangle in the middle is my cell phone { I was taking pictures with said cell phone, so I had to make a mock up} Now cut a rectangle about 1/4 inch larger than your cell phone. This will be an extra pocket made just for your device. You can also omit this step if you prefer to only have one giant pocket.

image

Sew your new pocket onto your armband. Make sure to use a zig zag stitch to allow your jersey to give and stretch. {oops, I goofed, and made my pocket slightly too long, it didn’t matter though… I just sewed over it and pretended like it wasn’t even there}

image

Place both large rectangles together and sew them to make one giant pocket. I decided to have my overlock stitching exposed so I put them right sides together and used my serger to sew the 2 sides and the bottom . Leave the top open, this is your pocket!. {I thought it looked a bit more sporty, but certainly you could put wrong sides together and then flip it to cover exposed seams.} You can always use a zig zag stich instead of overlock, if you don’t have the machine. If you do want the seams to be hidden, you’ll want to sew the band together on the short sides first to create the band, then sew along the bottom edge to create the pocket. When you flip it, your seams will be hidden. 

image

I made sure it was still going to fit {Because often times, my wing it designs don’t and at this point I’m starting over… but it did! Yay!}

image

Pin the ends one on top of the other flat, to create a band, and zigzag stitch them together.

image

It gets a bit tight at the end, make sure not to sew through your armhole. Since your using jersey, it works out nicely as long as your going slowly, and carefully watching where your sewing:)

image

Voila! You phone or mp3 play will fit in the middle section anywhere! Or, if you added the custom pocket, it will snuggly fit in that pocket too, top exposed for the earbuds to stick out. This is also something you can use to put a car key, ID, cash, credit card etc. In fact, I think I might embroider my husbands cell on it for emergencies. Ohhhh, the wheels are turning!

So there it is! Hope you love it as much as I do!

Anyone else make their own? Please share!

5 Responses to “Ipod Arm Band {Tutorial!}”

  1. stirandstitch August 10, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    i was just brainstorming yesterday about making myself something like this! the trouble is, i like to have it handy so i can check my time or change songs, so i’m trying to come up with a sleeve that might fit on my hand, so i’m not really holding my phone, does that make sense? we’ll see what i come up with! thanks for your sleeve tutorial – it’s great 🙂

    Like

    • sew20something August 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      If you use tulle as the front screen part, you can still use the actual phone. I made a phone holder for my sister that goes around your neck and used tulle on the front, and it’s fully functional. {She wears it at work because she dropped her phone in the toilet multiple times after it being in her back pocket!} Good luck!

      Like

      • stirandstitch August 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

        good idea! i discovered that the touch screen will still work inside a ziplock bag, too (it was raining). thanks 🙂

        Like

  2. cmratliff September 6, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    Love this! I’ve been looking to buy one, but now I will definitely give this a try first

    Like

    • sew20something September 6, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Make sure you use a fabric with Lots of spandex! Mine has to be washed often for ti to stay on my arm! Other than that I love it still!

      Like

Leave a Reply

