Muslin: Pants

9 Aug

There are so many reasons to sew up a muslin before you venture into your real fabric and I am so excited that I took the advice of everyone ever and did exactly that. These are technically my first pair of pants, and they look like someone first sewn pair of pants. The Fly is wrong, the fit is way wrong and there are mistakes everywhere you look.

Things that went wrong:

  1. The mystery Easter fabric didn’t iron well, and even though I am scrapbusting and getting good use out of this fabric {tons of it} that I wouldn’t possibly be able to use up otherwise, I realized the importance of a true muslin, and being comfortable working with a fabric that you can blast the heat on an iron in order to find a fit that works well.
  2. The FLY! So the instructions I had for the fly were not perfect, I did my best to understand them, and thought I had, until I finished the pants and undid the baste seam to the fly and realized I was WAY off! So I found this video, and I am excited to do it right the next time.
  3. My waistband is wonky. Why? I didn’t have a grasp on how to work a waistband in with a fly. I should have looked at a pair of jeans before actually sewing them, and realized it overlaps!

Things that went right:

  1. They fit well around my hips, and legs.
  2. Pockets. The pattern I have didn’t have any example of an internal pocket, so I thought I would try the outer pocket on the front on the muslin to see if that would be flattering. It’s not, at all. So because I used this on the muslin, I now know I need to look up how to do a jean front pocket on the inside and do that instead.
  3. I learned what needs fixed. The waist, and front gap. Thanks to this pants fitting guide.

What’s next? Another muslin! I am going to adjust the pattern as suggested, learn, and practice some new techniques. {Fly, Pockets} re-cut a muslin and sew it up again. Practice. Practice. Practice.

Why did women want to wear pants again? Dress and skirts are so much easier!

How did your first muslin go?

7 Responses to “Muslin: Pants”

  1. stirandstitch August 9, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    sewing pants scares me! you’re brave 🙂

    Like

    • sew20something August 9, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      I figured I had put it off long enough! Gotta learn sometime, I guess! Let me know if you ever decide to take the plunge!

      Like

      • stirandstitch August 10, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

        maybe this winter…i’ve been wanting to try some clovers!

        Like

  2. sewbusylizzy August 9, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Sewing pants is hard. I struggled the first time , once you understand the construction it gets easier.
    I think you are right though, hips and booty are easier to drape a skirt/dress over!

    Like

    • sew20something August 9, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Yes, my hope is that it will get easier with time! Thanks for the encouragement, I definitely need it:)

      Like

  3. jemailad August 10, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I feel the same way about pants vs. dresses… even when wearing them. It’s way easier to find a skirt that fits than to find a nice-fitting pair of pants. No coincidence, for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

