Second pants muslin

18 Aug

Made my second pants muslin this morning. One thing positive: I did the zipper right! I looked online for a video tutorial and that helped immensely. So that made me happy!
What went wrong: The fit still. I made my pattern alterations, but because I’m not 100% with this new skill, working it on a different pattern didn’t work perfectly. I got the general idea, and I think I’m heading in that direction. I just think I bit off more than I could chew for this.
My solution: start on a brand new pants pattern. I’m thinking either Collette {which is where I’m getting the pattern manipulation info from} or the sewaholic pants{ which come highly recommended}.
I’m still excited to do this and to got it right!

In other news, my husband and I celebrated 4 years of marriage this week! I realized my wardrobe lacked bottoms fitting for such an occasion. I don’t have a classic skirt or pants that work for an evening out. I either have bridesmaids dresses or casual wear. So it seems I need to further asses my wardrobe and really get to learning. At the very least, thrift some clothes to sew into what I want.

What’s easier? Altering thrifted clothes, or starting from scratch?

4 Responses to “Second pants muslin”

  1. sewbusylizzy August 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Personally I find it easier to start from scratch but I guess it depends on how major the alterations are.
    I haunt all my local op shops, usually looking for patterns, zips, buttons and fabric. If I start looking at clothes I find it hard to resist!

    Like

    • sew20something August 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

      I have thought about looking for notions etc. That way but I just never had! It makes sense for sure!

      Like

  2. stitchinstein August 19, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Hi Jenna,
    Love that you are making clothes to fit you! I don’t know, I think starting from scratch works for me. I have to think that with pants you just have to keep at it until you get a great fit. Then once you have that fit…no more patterns needed, you can make whatever you want based on that perfectly fitted shell!

    Love your blog!
    ~Cathy

    Like

    • sew20something August 20, 2012 at 12:58 am #

      Yes! That’s what I’m hoping for! Hopefully this pattern I got is the ticket. I’m excited!

      Like

Leave a Reply

